Inactivate a global artifact type

Global artifact types are set to Locked status by default. The Active status allows the artifact type to be added to specific projects. You can inactivate global artifact types so that they are unavailable for addition to projects.

If you inactivate a global artifact type after it is associated with a project, you can still create artifacts of that type in that project. Being inactive at the global level does not prevent new artifacts from being created using that artifact type if it was active and associated with the project when the project was initiated. An inactive artifact type cannot be associated with new projects.

You cannot delete global artifact types if they are in use by one or more projects.

Note: When you inactivate a global artifact type, the Default checkbox is cleared even if it had been checked. If you re-activate the artifact type, Default checkbox must be checked again if you want this artifact type to be designated a default.

To inactivate an artifact type

  1. Log in as a domain administrator.
  2. Click the Administration tab.
  3. Click Project Tracker > Artifact types in the left navigation pane.
  4. Click the link for the artifact type that you want to inactivate.
  5. Clear (un-check) the Active checkbox.