Editing and maintaining the Project home page

Maintaining project information

The Project home page is the entry point for all project users, members as well as potential contributors. The primary role of the Project home page is to highlight the project's mission, primary goals, current status, and ongoing needs.

NOTE: For a good example of summarizing project goals and status, see the open source Subversion project home page.

Project information can be modified through the Edit project page. By clicking on the Edit project link on the Project home you can modify the information in each of these fields:

About the Use Project home page option

If your project uses CVS for source control, your Project home page by default displays the content that you entered in the Description field in the Edit project page.

Because some projects require more complex home pages, however, you have the option to store and display special home page content from a different file. The "Use project index.html" check box in the Edit project page indicates that your project home page should display the contents of the "index.html" file instead of displaying description field information from the database. This file is located in:

http://yourprojectname.thisdomain/www/index.html

This file is part of the project's source code repository. If you check the Use project index.html check box, you must update your home page content by editing the index.html file, saving it, and then committing it into CVS to display the newest file revision in your project's home page. When you use the index.html file, you can include HTML formatting, graphics, and other more complex elements for your project's home page.

Updating the owner's message

Initially you use the field to identify yourself as the project owner and convey project goals. As the project progresses, use the Owner's Message to highlight project milestones, list changing requirements, and identify particular resource needs. For example, you may advertise the types of development expertise currently being sought:

"Desperately seeking experienced Java servlet developers with a passion for creating apps that will change the world."

Or, you can give updates about the current status of development and what's coming up next.

However you use this field, your Owner's Message should be updated frequently: usually once a week, but no less than monthly. Fresh messages convey a sense of excitement and momentum; critical perceptions to the growth of development projects.

About other operations

Tool configuration: This link allows you to view and, if you have the appropriate permission, to edit configuration options that affect your project. Use this area to determine how project tools are configured.

Edit project roles: Allows you to view and manage roles specific to this project. More information on project roles is available in the Manage project roles document.

Edit project resource patterns: Like the project roles, this allows you to view and manage resources attached to roles in this project. For more information, review the Manage project roles document.

Delete project: Allows you to remove the project from view on the domain.

About project locking

If you have received email notification that your project is locked, you should contact a site administrator immediately for further information. Project locking means that site administrators have temporarily disabled your project. This may be due to site policy matters, technical issues, or other reasons.

When you load your Project home or Project edit page, you encounter the Locked flag in red at the top. All site-related project activity is suspended in locked projects. Your project pages can still be accessed and all existing project data is intact, however you and your project members temporarily have read-only access to the source code repository, discussions, issue database, project files, and documents. No one -- including you -- can commit source code, enter issues, upload or download files and documents, change web content, or subscribe to or modify discussions. If your locked project is a public project, other site users can still view your project's home page but the project is flagged as "locked."

A site administrator must unlock your project to reactivate it. You will receive email notification when this action is taken also.