Adding and editing user accounts

Adding new users

To add a new user, you enter basic user identification on the Add new user page.

To add new users, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Administration tab.
  2. On the navigation, click the Users link.
  3. From the Users page, click the Add new user link.

The required fields are username, email address and full name. You can also assign a password to the user. If you have localization active on your domain you can select a default language in which the user will receive all system emails.

You can also specify the authentication realm if you want to assign the user to a particular realm. You can select a realm from a list of realms. You can also select the option Allow users to specify authentication realm for the user to choose their realm at the time of Login setup. The user will be a part of the default CollabNet realm by default till the user is assigned to an authentication realm.

Additionally, you can send the new user a welcoming email message and a password ticket email. You can select to send the new user email after the account is created. You can send them a password ticket that will randomly generate a password for them. You can also elect to send the new user a welcoming email.

Adding multiple users

If you need to add users for an entire department or company, you can enter them all simultaneously using the One or more user records field. Enter only one user per line using one of the following acceptable formats:

username username@domain.com

username username@domain.com "Jane Doe"

username username@domain.com "Jane Doe" "Software Corp."

The company and organization are not required, but if you choose to add them you must also add the user's full name. You must enclose full names and/or company/organization names in double quotes as indicated in the above example. Passwords are emailed to newly created users by default. If you do not want emails sent, remove the checkmark in the "Email containing password ticket" box. After adding the user(s), you are returned to the Users page which now includes any newly added users. You can click on any username to access an edit screen for that user's account. See the Editing user accounts and role assignments section for more information.

About guest users

Your site may be configured to allow guest user access. A user entering as a guest does not have to register or explicitly log in, and can read domain-level content, such as the home page and help information. They can also view information and check out source code for public projects. They cannot, however, make any changes to anything on the site, access any private content, or any personalized content such as the My start page. If guest users wish to make changes or view restricted content associated with private projects, they must register with the site to obtain a user account and then log in.

Because the guest users access is handled as another role that users hold ("Anonymous guest"), you can choose to modify the permissions associated with this role if you want to give guest users greater access to the site. See Administering roles and permissions: Editing roles for more information.

If your site does not support guest users, first-time visitors will have access to the login screen only and are unable to access anything else.

Viewing and filtering user lists

The Users screen displays a list of all users on this domain. The default view is the first full screen of user accounts listed in alphabetical order by users' usernames. Page through the full list or jump to the desired page using the links at the bottom of the screen.

The Filter button works essentially like a search function. Type one or more characters in the field and click the Filter button. The user list is filtered for matching text strings in the username, email, full name, and organization fields. For example, by entering the string "@domain-x" in this field, you can filter for a listing of all users with "domain-x" email addresses. As with any search or filter function, the less specific your input criteria is, the broader your results will tend to be. To produce a more targeted list, use a more specific filtering string.

The All user emails link at the top right corner of the Users page lets you obtain a static list of email addresses for every user currently registered on your site.

Editing user account information

From the Users page click the user's username to access the Edit user page. This page details all domain information associated with individual user accounts. The top part of the page contains fields to modify user account information:

Username
This field may not be modified. If you need to assign a new login to a user, you must create an entirely new user account.
Authentication Realm
This may be used to select the realm that the user belongs to. Selecting Allow Users To Specify Authentication Realm will enable the user to select the appropriate authentication realm.
Authentication Realm Login ID
The user's existing authentication realm login id may be changed using this field.
Full name
User's full name may be edited as necessary.
Email
Field may be edited to reflect change in user's email address. Users who register with this site automatically receive a domain email account (username@domain). This email address serves as an alias for their email address listed in their user preferences. Primarily used for identification, this email address allows all of the components of the application to identify the user easily.
Organization
Field may be edited to reflect change in user's employment status or association with a company or organization.
Password/Retype password
User's password may be changed. Any changes must be confirmed by entering the new password a second time.
User language
If localization is active on your domain, you can select a default language in which the user will receive all system emails.

The bottom portion of the Edit user page contains administrative fields and options regarding user roles and permissions on this site. To learn more about these, see Administering roles and permissions.

Locked user accounts

If a user's failed login attempts exceed the number defined in the Authentication failures before lockout field of the domain configuration, the user will be unable to login until you unlock the account. When the site contains locked user accounts, the Locked user accounts link appears in the Pending actions section of your My start page.

Clicking the Locked user accounts link will take you to the Reinstate locked accounts page where all locked user accounts are listed.

To unlock a user account

  1. Click the My start page.
  2. Click the Locked user accounts link.
    If this link does not appear, there are no locked out users. If this link does appear, clicking it displays the Reinstate locked accounts page.
  3. Select the Reinstate radio button next to the account or accounts that you wish to unlock.
  4. Click the Reinstate accounts button.

Deleting user accounts

There may be instances when you are logged in as a user, for example User 1 when the domain administrator deletes the user. You will be immediately denied all permissions and roles. The open active session page will continue to remain open. The next link or page that you click will take you directly to the login page. You will not be informed that your user account has been deleted.

To delete a user:

  1. Log in as a domain administrator and click the tab Administration.
  2. Click the links Users > Delete Users.
  3. Type in the username of the user you wish to delete.
  4. You can type one username per line or multiple usernames with a comma, colon or semicolon to separate them.